Reviews

Reviews

Thank you for choosing Casa del Rio Riverhouse for your stay in the heart of the Texas Hill Country. Please take a moment to leave thoughts below about your visit so others may have a glimpse of what you’ve experienced.

Betty Matteson
Casa del Rio Riverhouse
1929 Hwy 39
Hunt, Texas 78024
830-238-4424

Click here to enter a review


Please submit your review here. Note: while your email address will not be made public, your name will show in your post; so please use an initial for your last name if you wish to keep it private.
* Required Field

A Little Piece of Paradise

Mar 20, 2013 by Carla

I was looking for someplace special to take my parents to celebrate their 80th birthdays and the Casa del Rio Riverhouse couldn't have been more perfect! The house was completely charming and was well equipped with everything we could possibly need for our stay. Listening to the sound of the babbling river while enjoying the lovely view made playing games around the dining table that much more relaxing, not to mention providing a great place to watch the birds! The grounds are also a wonderful place to wander and explore. And the icing on the cake was the considerate and delightful Ms. Betty! She was very generous in helping me make this a birthday that Mom and Dad will always remember. Everyone should have the opportunity to experience this little piece of paradise!


PARADISE

Mar 19, 2013 by Kurt

If you\'re considering a trip to Hunt, TX for some R&R, this is the place. The cottage is well-equipped and has all the amenities we needed (two adults and three, 8-10 yr olds). The beds are comfy, the kitchen and dining areas overlook the river, there is a fireplace, etc. Outside the cottage is a property set in a spectacular rural setting, affording access to both the narrow and wide parts of the Guadalupe River. There are many different species of birds, wildlife, and the short hikes under the cypress trees along the river are incredible! The owner, Betty, is a wonderful soul and a gracious host. She allowed us to use her canoes and fishing poles, and she also has other equipment (e.g., tubes) you can use to enjoy the experience on the river. We canoed half a mile up the river and also fished several times during our stay. There are tables/chairs in several places on the property and these are perfect places to sit and relax or read a book. The location near Hunt allows for short trips to Ingram or Kerrville for groceries/dining, easy access to Lost Maples State Park, and other adventures along the Guadalupe River. If you get a chance, stay at the Casa del Rio and enjoy this river paradise!


Hated to leave

Mar 18, 2013 by Jorge

We got back home a couple of days ago and have already booked another few days for this summer (wish it could have been more). Part of me doesn't want to tell you how great it is at Casa del Rio but it's too nice a place to keep secret. This place just sucks the stress right out of you leaving you feeling human again. It's cozy, it's homey and it's a place where you simply feel comfortable right away. Bring your telescope if you have one because you'll see almost as many stars as you can see out at the McDonald Observatory which is saying a lot! I can't wait to return this summer!!!
Thanks again and see you soon Betty!!!
- Jorge / Austin, Texas


Wonderful

Feb 25, 2013 by Hank

wonderful"

What a great place to relax, fish, and just enjoy life! The amentities (grill, fireplace, kitchen, etc). are great! Betty is wonderful. Looking forward to bringing my beautiful bride of over 41+ years and some of our grand kids back this summer- Hank Georgetown, Texas


Don's want to tell you how great it was ..."

Feb 05, 2013 by Kelly S.

"Don't want to tell you how great it was..."

...because I don't want to have to share it! This little getaway is too perfect. We stayed in the separate house for two nights and three magical days. Even in the hot hot heat of the summer, the big cypress trees shade the house and swimming hole, so it's a perfect place to spend the warm afternoon soaking in the water. The house itself is charming, with big rock walls, sweet bedrooms and comfortable kitchen and living room. We cooked several meals here quite happily. The property includes the bank on the opposite side of the river, and quite a ways upstream, so there's plenty of space to walk, fish, canoe and meander. Swings (made from rocking chairs and hanging from the trees!), tons of patio furniture and charming stone steps provide great vistas of the water below. The swimming hole is deep enough for goofing off, and the shallower areas are perfect for building rock dams and parking it in a tube for a little nap. Betty is the most charming, sweet and gentle gal. She was such a host, as was her kitty, who greeted us from the window of her home each time we pulled in. I could have put them both in my bag and taken them home. Betty makes this place so extra special. So, in summation... please stay here, just not on the days I want to go! 🙂


Exceptional Get-away

Dec 24, 2012 by Stanley

Review "Exceptional Get-away"

My wife and I loved staying at Casa Del Rio. The house was very nice, all the amenities you need. We felt very comfortable there. Plenty of room to roam and we felt pretty isolated. The river was wonderful and so peaceful. We used the canoe for a late afternoon paddle down the river. We will definitely be back.


Heaven

Jul 22, 2012 by Mary Lee Benedict

This is the loveliest property on the South fork of the Guadalupe River 1.5 miles from Hunt, TX. My three girls and I were there for six days this past week. Can one ask for more than cool river breezes, rippling waters that sing to you, fabulous accommodations and an Innkeeper who recognizes exactly what her guests need and provides abundantly? It was truly what my family needed...ultimate relaxation. Thank you Betty...We love you


Refuge

Jul 13, 2012 by Lisa Carlson

Casa Del rio is a lovely casita along a gorgeous stretch of the Guadalupe River. It is immaculate and had every convenience we needed to relax. The home is surrounded by beautiful green trees we could see from every window. A sweet yard complete with comfy furniture, hanging swings, and a grill were also ours to enjoy. We swam twice a day, canoed, fished, and hiked. Betty was a gracious host who welcomed our questions and respected our privacy. I can not wait to return; the Casa Del Rio is perfect for couples, families, or friends!


Jun 28, 2012 by Cheryl R.

My girlfriends and I just returned from our stay at Casa del Rio and we had the most wonderful time!...The house was so comfortable, the property was immaculate! And what a priviledge it was to have met Ms. Betty, such a great hostess! We played in the water, star gazed, bird watched and best of all, simply relaxed! Thank you Betty for sharing, and we will look forward for a return visit!


Jun 18, 2012 by Chuck

We had wonderful time at Casa del Rio and look forward to our next visit. From the first moment we met Betty I knew this was going to be a relaxing vacation. The guest house was perfect. The section of river reflects the care that Betty and her family put into the maintanance. Absolutely the most relaxing time I have ever experienced while on vacation.


Casa Del Rio Riverhouse 830-238-4424 1929 Hwy 39 Hunt TX, 78024 USA 5.0 5.0 52 52 My family and I had THE BEST time at Casa Del Rio. It was March so the water was a little chilly but the kids still had fun on the canoes and inner tubes! Betty was so nice and the