Reviews

Reviews

Thank you for choosing Casa del Rio Riverhouse for your stay in the heart of the Texas Hill Country. Please take a moment to leave thoughts below about your visit so others may have a glimpse of what you’ve experienced.

Betty Matteson
Casa del Rio Riverhouse
1929 Hwy 39
Hunt, Texas 78024
830-238-4424

Click here to enter a review


Please submit your review here. Note: while your email address will not be made public, your name will show in your post; so please use an initial for your last name if you wish to keep it private.
* Required Field

Loved it

May 11, 2014 by Julie S.

Casa del Rio's Riverhouse manages to feel like you are in another world while feeling homey at the same time. Very clean and the beds were really comfortable! The spacious property must be on the prettiest part of the river. Betty suggested we try The Hunt Store for a picturesque, casual lunch - we had the burgers, which were generously sized and tasty. The kids were delighted to see about 15 deer one evening when we were enjoying some quiet time near the canoe dock. We really enjoyed our late spring weekend, and hope to come back in the fall.


Great Riverfront Home!!!

Apr 11, 2014 by Todd L.

My fiance' and I spent the last weekend of September here and had a great time. The setting is so peaceful, and we enjoyed seeing the deer and wild turkeys. We could see the fish in the river and will definitely be fishing next time we visit. Elaine's Table in Hunt provided excellent food just a mile away. Thanks again!!!
Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway


Simply Wonderful

Apr 11, 2014 by Maryanne Weeks

My husband and I stayed here the weekend of April 4th 2014. The location is perfect for venturing out to Fredericksburg, Bandera, or Garner state park for day trips. We saw so many deer, beautiful birds, and even a porcupine.The cottage is well appointed, clean and cozy, with comfy beds. Great for family fun or a romantic getaway. The river flows right behind the cottage and sounds very relaxing. Lots of hiking opportunities just out your door. The stars on our one clear night were beautiful and Betty is so very sweet. We did a romantic dinner at the Antler grill... The food was fabulous with a gorgeous view. And for those who like to dance...We are told CRIDERS dance barn is a most happening place in the summer and it\'s just down the road a mile or 2. You will not be disappointed in the gem!!


Amazing Place to get Away

Mar 03, 2014 by Ashley

My boyfriend and I stayed here over the Valentines weekend to get away from the city. It is an absolutely wonderful place to stay. Extremely peaceful, clean and close to nature. It had everything we needed to be able to enjoy our stay. It's also a nice place to hike around or just sit and enjoy the sounds of the nature surrounding it. The house is close to the river so most of the time we kept the windows opened in the kitchen/living room so we could hear the water. If you're staying for an extended amount of time and will be cooking, the kitchen has all the utensils you should need and it's not a far drive to the store. Betty is also wonderful, she's very friendly and welcoming. Betty and her property make you feel like you have a home away from home, my boyfriend and I didn't want to leave. We will definitely be planning a trip here again in the future.


Great Riverfront Home

Sep 17, 2013 by Kim

My family and I enjoyed this riverfront home Labor Day and were surprised at just how relaxing the water can be! We were in the river, on tubes, the entire time! The area in front of the house is perfect for lounging lazily in the water. When we got bored, we canoed up river about twenty minutes to a beautifully rocky spot that was absolutely perfect for photos. The home is beautiful and most importantly, clean! We had everything we needed for three wonderful days. And Betty was very helpful and attentive! We will definitely revisit!


VERY RELAXING AND SERENE

Sep 06, 2013 by JoAnn

Craig & I wanted to go somewhere quiet and peaceful where we could just kick back and enjoy nature. We wanted away from the hustle & bustle and that's exactly what we got @ Casa del Rio. Betty was also a delight. We had a great time & will most definitely be back.


GREAT WEEKEND ON THE GUADALUPE

Sep 06, 2013 by Jennifer

We visited for a weekend and loved the location and the hospitality! Betty was welcoming and her River House is perfect for a family. (Kids 12, 10 & 9 years old - they hiked, swam, fished and explored!) Plenty of room, comfortable, all the amenities you would need! The river was beautiful and the rocking chair swings inviting! Thank you, Betty for sharing your wonderful spot of Hunt Heaven with us.


GRANDPA'S FISH CAMP AT CASA DEL RIO

Sep 05, 2013 by Steve Knox

After staying a long weekend here last summer I decided to bring my granddaughter back for a long weekend. My wife and I brought her and a girlfriend. This was our fourth annual Grandpa's Fish Camp, but the first time we have taken it on the road. The river setting was perfect for two 11 year old girls. We fished, swam, tubed, waded, canoed, etc. and we all slept well every night! On Saturday night we went to dinner in Hunt at Elaine's Table. We've been before and weren't disappointed. After dinner we went to the rodeo and dance at Crider's. Don't miss it! The cabin was clean and well appointed and the setting couldn't be prettier or more relaxing. We'll be back.


Wonderfully Relaxing

Jun 12, 2013 by Katie

Any place that can make my fifteen year old to voluntarily put down his cell phone for four days to swim in the crystal-clear swimming hole, tube the rapids, hike to the rocky bluffs, drink coffee while watching a huge buck cross the river at dawn, canoe for two hours to a waterfall, and look at fireflies on the three acres of wildflower-strewn property is paradise to me! Tubes, canoes, and everything else you can think of are provided. The property was within a short distance from my daughter's camp, which was very convenient. The owner is a delightful person, and a talented watercolorist - her paintings decorate the house for a truly personal touch. We will be booking here again, and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a few days in paradise!

Recommended for: Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway


Fantastic

Jun 10, 2013 by Peggy & Joe

This cabin and Betty Matteson was out of this world. She is the sweetest lady we've ever met. If you want relaxation this is the place to go. The sound of Guadalupe River running behind cabin is awesome. She has canoes you can use, good fishing. She has these rocking chairs hanging from a tree that swing. Cabin is equipped with anything you need. Pray you get to go there. We love you Betty and if we get the chance we will definently come back.


Casa Del Rio Riverhouse 830-238-4424 1929 Hwy 39 Hunt TX, 78024 USA 5.0 5.0 52 52 My family and I had THE BEST time at Casa Del Rio. It was March so the water was a little chilly but the kids still had fun on the canoes and inner tubes! Betty was so nice and the